The Catholic Church in India has a vital role to play in the field of education, healthcare and social welfare of the Indian community, especially to the marginalized. Diocese of Irinjalakuda, as a part of church in India has committed to the same through different activities. Diocese of Irinjalakuda in connection with the sacerdotal Silver Jubilee of the first Bishop Mar James Pazhayattil instituted St.James’ Hospital Trust and started a multi specialty hospital in the year 1989. In the silver Jubilee year of the Diocese of Irinjalakuda and of the Episcopal ordination of its 1st Bishop Mar James Pazhayattil, the hospital trust established St. James’ College of Nursing in the year 2002 and situated at the beautiful river bank of Chalakudy. The College is located in the 10 acres of campus of St.James Medical Academy one and half km away from south junction of Chalakudy and two and half km away from Chalakudy railway station.The vision and mission of Mar James Pazhayattil is continued under the relentless guidance of our patron, his Excellency Mar Pauly Kannookadan, Bishop of Irinjalakuda till date. Msgr. Joy Paliakkara is the president of St. James’ Hospital Trust. Rev. Fr. Paul Elamkunnapuzha, the founder Director of St. James’ College of Nursing took on his shoulders the great responsibility of establishing the college. At present, the College of Nursing functions under the administration of Fr.Varghese Pathadan-Director, Fr.Antu Alappadan -Joint Director, Fr.Thomas Elamkunnapuzha – Finance Officer,Fr. Manoj Mekkadath-Associate Director, Fr.Tijo Alapatt – Associate Director.

The college is affiliated to Kerala University of Health and Allied Sciences from 2010 admission.It has the recognition and sanction by Kerala State Nursing council  and Indian Nursing council.

The college endeavors for the academic and extracurricular growth of its students through the proficient leadership of Dr. Cicily Joseph, Principal, Rev. Sr. Symphoria CSC , Vice Principal and a task force of resourceful and well experienced teaching and non teaching faculty.

Back to Top